Rock Creek Cemetery. Chapel dedicated to the Myrrh-Streaming Montreal Iveron Icon of the Mother of God

Rock Creek Cemetery was established in 1719 as a churchyard for St. Paul's Episcopal Church. Sections of the 86-acre cemetery are reserved for use by members of St. John's Russian Orthodox Cathedral (Section V), as well as for those of St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Cathedral. The gem of our section is the chapel dedicated to the Myrrh-Streaming Montreal Iveron Icon of the Mother of God. It was designed by parishioner Irene Zarechnak, constructed by Deacon Herman Ricketts and the exterior mosaics and interior murals were executed by renowned iconographer Alexander Sokolov (+2015)' The chapel was consecrated in September 2005 by His Eminence Metropolitan Laurus, First Hierarch of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia (+2008). Requiem Liturgies are celebrated in the chapel several times a year.

Approximately 790 grave plots currently exist in Section V, of which 550 are occupied. The earliest burial dates to 1961. Four plots owned by our church in Section V are still available at a cost of $4680. Rock Creek Cemetery has developed a new section to the left (north) and set aside an additional 90 plots for our parish.  Those plots, purchased directly from the cemetery, cost $6,100.  Parishioners interested in purchasing a plot should contact Michael Nazaretz, 703-521-5873.

Directions

  • Rock Creek Cemetery
  • Rock Creek Church Rd, NW and Webster St, NW
  • Washington, DC 20011
  • From St John the Baptist Russian Orthodox Cathedral, go north to Upshur St, NW (0.1 miles, two blocks)
  • Turn right on Upshur St and go 1.4 miles until road ends at National Soldiers Home
  • Turn left at light and go 0.2 miles
  • Turn left into Rock Creek Cemetery main entrance
  • Proceed north and east to Section V (see map)

Address of our Cathedral

  • 4001 17th St. N.W.,
  • Washington, D.C., 20011

Phone  (202) 726-3000

Email        webmaster@stjohndc.org

 

Donate

Go to top